Poems for the Planet

Here three of the poems from Poems for the Planet:

 

A Kestrel for Gerard Manley Hopkins

 

Although it appears immaterial the air has substance:

I watch a kestrel as it swims and hovers -

hangs on to the unbelievable

     with palpable results.

 

This proves the tangibility of nothingness

to those of a religious disposition

who talk in a rarefied way about God

        and the Virgin Mary.

 

They too it seems can swim and hover like the kestrel:

are proof that the testaments are true

and that there is validity

in witness.

 

They can even fly through the holes

in an empty mind like pigs or seraphim.

 

For my part, sitting on an infinite fence, that isn’t there

I’ll take the air for what it’s worth -

ethereal or otherwise.

 

I’ll catch my breath in awestruck dumb despair

as the kestrel and its maker - there or not -

Uphold the fragile substance of a prayer

            made up of atoms.

 

Forecast

 

I do not write the weather it writes me:

this grey is my dull mood not just the sky

as my internal moisture and the clouds

combine as if our dew points were allied

 

            - were synchronised -

 

It seems the slanted rays of this slow sun

that skims the tide with sheens of silver light

inclines towards the rhythms of my heart

and all the stars that shimmer as they gleam

                and iridesce.

 

And when the midnight moment comes to pass

and seagulls like the sap in every plant

sink into the silence and the dark of my cold blood

 

then I like winter’s reason thus defined

become the frosted thermocline of hope

that touches ice as well as summer’s fire -

both phoenix and the frozen reams of bone

                that is our text.

 

Remember as the rainbow arcs and towers

its spectral incandescence will not last -

like us it lives its own prismatic hour

like lark song or the ghosts as breath aspires

 

and when our autumn corpuscles are grasped

between the mists of memory

       - and moments -

that hang their silks and glitter

when we ask and no-one answers

 

my inner sense of barometric pressure

responds to all the moods and millibars

that nature with its metre and its measures

condenses and precipitates like art

          in every stanza.

 

Hot Line to a Cold Heart

 

There is a line between us:

a line that divides the water

as it flows on its journey seawards.

 

          It holds

 

like the morning sun

          the unchanging light

                   that is always changing

 

yet you and I have denied all this talk an babble

as the river’s slow succession here succumbs

          to our strange connection.

 

You draw me down to the fathomless cold depths of my understanding

where I feel the pulse of something as you plunge and increase the tension.

 

There is a line between us that this pen cannot plumb or plunder

and as you rise towards me and we fight for our different reasons

your scales and my clear eyes at the point of meeting

are stunned by the sudden flash of recognition -

               of the thresh and sparkle.